News



5 July 2021

Appointment of Members of the Mobility and Access Committee for Scotland

The Minister for Transport, Graeme Dey MSP, today announced the appointment of Graham Dunn, Pauline Kelly, Ewan Mathieson, Lynsey Shovlin, Heather Still, and Simon Watkins as Members of the Mobility and Access Committee for Scotland.

Appointments

<u>Graham Dunn</u> has worked within the third and statutory sectors throughout his career and over the last 16 years within the community and social transport sector. He is now a consultant working with third and statutory sector organisations in relation to Community, Health and Social Transport.

<u>Pauline Kelly</u> is a communications and training specialist who has spent the last 10 years working in the third sector in Scotland focusing on equalities, human rights, and education. Pauline previously held the Secretariat for the Cross-Party Group on Human Rights at Holyrood and is focused on contributing to a rights respecting society. She trained as a counsellor and has served as a volunteer counsellor. She spent much of her earlier career in Asia working in communications and education for organisations including the British Council and the University of Hong Kong. Pauline is a frequent user of public transport across the country and is an advocate for accessible travel for all.

Ewan Mathieson is an experienced communications professional and an Associate Member of the Chartered Institute of Public Relations. He has spent time living in rural Argyll and Edinburgh, assisting with a family tourism business and as a Communications Manager for Revenue Scotland. He lives with a hidden disability and has first-hand knowledge of the transport needs and issues of disconnected rural communities. He hopes to bring his varied experience to help improve transport options for disabled people.

Lynsey Shovlin is a Project Manager for Scottish Enterprise. She graduated from Edinburgh Napier University with a BA degree in Festival and Events Management and has worked at several major events coordinating transport services, including London 2012 and the 2014 Ryder Cup in Glasgow. She was one of Scotland's first Customer Service Apprentices for ScotRail and is a regular traveller on public transport, especially rail services.

<u>Heather Still</u> works in health improvement for a Health and Social Care Partnership. She enjoys listening to people and conducting qualitative research into illness and

health experiences. She has a congenital lifelong illness which gives her a critical perspective on barriers traditionally unseen. Her empathy and skills in advocacy and research allow her to push lived experiences as a viable perspective for social and health issues in our society.

<u>Simon Watkins</u> began working with Cumbernauld Corporation before moving to the then Strathclyde Regional Council as a planner. He was seconded for ten years to an EU Programme, assisting local authorities in Central and Eastern Europe, the last two years as Director. Mr Watkins joined the newly-created Scottish Parliament as one of its Clerk Team Leaders and led teams supporting many of the main Committees of the Parliament, including the Health Committee's handing of the Bill banning smoking in public places.

The appointments are regulated by the Ethical Standards Commissioner.

Length of Term, Remuneration and Time Commitment

The appointments are for four years. Graham Dunn, Pauline Kelly and Simon Watkins' appointments are from 1 May 2021 until 30 April 2025. Ewan Mathieson, Lynsey Shovlin and Heather Still's appointments are from 1 October 2021 until 30 September 2025.

Members of the Committee receive a fee of £150.00 per day for a time commitment of 18 days per year.

Other Ministerial Appointments

All new Committee members do not hold any other Ministerial appointments.

Political Activity

All appointments are made on merit and political activity plays no part in the selection process. However, in accordance with the original Nolan recommendations, there is a requirement for appointees' political activity within the last five years (if there is any to be declared) to be made public. In this instance there is no political activity, within the last five years, of any of the new members of the Committee.

Mobility and Access Committee for Scotland

The Mobility and Access Committee for Scotland (MACS) was established in 2002 and is an advisory non departmental public body. The Convener and Members are appointed by the Minister for Transport.

MACS was formally constituted under section 72 of the Transport (Scotland) Act 2001. Prior to this advice was provided by the Disabled Persons Transport Advisory Committee (DPTAC) on a UK wide basis and there was no equivalent Scottish body.

The role of MACS is set out in the Act as being to:

- consider matters about the needs of disabled persons in connection with transport that the committee think are appropriate
- advise the Scottish Ministers about those matters that the committee think are appropriate.

The Committee has 15 members with various skills, knowledge and experience gained through their fields of expertise and lived experiences. Members have collective responsibility for the effective operation of MACS, and are led by the Convener.

The Convener gives active and effective leadership, direction, support and guidance to ensure that MACS delivers its functions effectively and efficiently, consistent with Ministers' priorities.